Latest Reviews

Go to page:
0 1 2 3 4 > >> 1932
Countershooter
For: I wanna be the 8bit
[0] Likes
Rating: 8.5 85       Difficulty: 47 47
Sep 20, 2017
Countershooter
For: I wanna conquer the blow game 3
[0] Likes
Rating: 6.0 60       Difficulty: 25 25
Sep 20, 2017
Gravitoon
For: I wanna eat Sheep spike
Harder than both 2 and 3. I was enjoying it until I reached the end which is p annoying

Read More

Tagged as: Needle
[0] Likes
Rating: 6.4 64       Difficulty: 53 53
Sep 20, 2017
Madichi
For: I wanna uhuhu spike 3
Pretty good game and my first serious needle experience. Nice background, even nice music choice, game also includes some interesting jumps.

There is a few bad sides. Firstly - sometime balance at this game become broken. Secondly. This exploding white stars are VERY annoying, they just forcing me to push R button, when explosion was nearly close.

Still, as i said before, it's a good needle game, which can entertain you for hour or few hours.

Read More

[0] Likes
Rating: 7.0 70       Difficulty: 65 65
Sep 20, 2017
Paragus
For: Domu
This is a really nice production. As soon as it starts you can tell instantly that the maker actually gave a shit. There's a bunch of stages that use a lot of different types of gimmicks. I respect the fact that the maker tries a wide variety of stuff in this area. Some of the gimmicks are hit and miss, the ones that didn't work out as much for me were mostly due to some frustrating level designs around those gimmicks with the exception being some really weird ice physics in one section.

There's a bunch of bosses along the way. They look good and feel fair mostly. The production on most of them is quite good.

In terms of the platforming, the difficulty is a bit higher than I was expecting after where the intro stage starts. It felt jarring and felt like borderline needle in a few places in some stages. There's a bunch of segments that have transitional kills that feels cheap, or traps placed right at the end of segment which cheapens the game for me when used more than once or twice.

Overall it's worth your time to see some of the creative ideas in this one.

Read More

[2] Likes
Rating: 8.8 88       Difficulty: 65 65
Sep 20, 2017
Paragus
For: I wanna best the 50 floors
A rock solid 50F needle game. Good visuals, nice jump variety, and a nice sprinkling of vines and platform jumps to keep things fresh. Never gets stupidly hard and the saves are well placed and fairly balanced.

Read More

Tagged as: Needle
[2] Likes
Rating: 8.5 85       Difficulty: 60 60
Sep 20, 2017
Xplayerlol
For: I wanna break through Ario Trials
[Uncleared]
Nice-looking, mostly generic needle inspired by Seven Trials (Though this time only one person made everything). Although generic, it never felt repetitive as far as I can remember (It's been a long time since I played it, so don't take my word for it), and I enjoyed everything I played in it (Which excludes the 5 Trial and the 5X Trial). There's also an avoidance trial that can be described just like the needle sections: Quite a bit generic, but nice-looking and really enjoyable.
It's hard to tell if I'd give it a 5.0 or a 6.0 (It all comes down to how I'd feel about the 5 trial, and I'm not playing that anytime soon) for quality rating, and the same goes for the difficulty rating (Except that I can't even make a good estimation of that one. 60+, I guess, most likely on the 70s), so I'll just leave those two blank.

Side note: 5X looks like an extra of sorts, so I'd treat it as one.

Read More

Tagged as: Needle
[0] Likes
Rating: N/A       Difficulty: N/A
Sep 20, 2017
Xplayerlol
For: I wanna defeat the Arrangement Z
[Uncleared]
Man, I thought that the original Arrangement was trash. This is like a sloppier version of that thing. The difficulty curve looks like an electrocardiogram, one save is repeated thrice and you can check the 8th trial's screenshot to see how it is like and wonder why does it exist. Oh, and apparently the maker didn't know what aligns are (Or maybe he did, and forced the player to get the bad aligns on purpose).
Finally, I'd like to bring your attention to the 16th and the 27th trials. The 16th trial ends with a ceiling double diamond, but there's that thing called bad align that doesn't allow you to do it like a normal double diamond: Instead, you have to treat it like a double invert and do the bunnyhop-4-frame-2-frame (Or is it 5-frame-1-frame? I never know), because any other sequence of inputs will result in death, including cancels and normal 1-frames. The 27th trial doesn't derive its difficulty from any dirty trick like that, but it's still ridiculously hard and painfully tedious, so I thought I'd let you know that there's another roadblock besides the 16th trial. I underestimated it when I first saw it, and to this day I never got past that thing.

Just a sloppier Defeat the Arrangement that shows that the original wasn't quite "bad in every possible way" as I thought it was. Otherwise, I'd have to call this "bad in every possible and impossible way", or something, and that sounds silly.

Read More

Tagged as: Needle
[1] Like
Rating: 0.9 9       Difficulty: 88 88
Sep 20, 2017
Xplayerlol
For: I wanna be the Pro!
[Uncleared]
Ten screens of somewhat progressive difficulty, starts out mediocre, becomes absolute trash later on, and then sinks below the "absolute trash" category once you reach the last screen.

- First screen is corridor platforming with beginner-friendly needle. I don't mind it, some people would already call this game bad upon seeing it.
- Second screen raised the difficulty cap a bit. Relatively more advanced platforming that would rank somewhere between the later 20s and the first 30s in difficulty, the first two saves are needle and the last is a short segment of moving obstacles.
- Third screen raises the difficulty cap a bit further. Fast moving obstacles and a few harder needle jumps (Namely diamonds) are the core of this part of the game. It's alright.
- The fourth screen is where you begin to realize that something is dangerously wrong with this game. The second save has a trickier jump in the middle of it that is quite a bit harder than anything that came before it (Should be a 40 difficulty, or something like that), and then the last save just bumps the difficulty by an unthinkable percentage with a dumb precise segment of moving cherries where each cherry moves in a random direction upon spawning (If it moves horizontally, it could spawn moving left or right, and if it moves vertically it could spawn moving up or down), and you need at least 8 of these cherries to follow a specific setup. Honestly, I got said decent setup two or three times within two hours, so there is some room for mistake, but it's still a disgusting segment nevertheless. Depending on your standards, this could rank anywhere between 60 and 80 difficulty, with one of the worst sources of difficulty fangames have to offer: Pure luck.
- The fifth screen is a horrendous, surreal experience. It's a massive drop where you're given low-gravity from the start. Later segments of it are decently precise, and the screen scrolling over and over makes it much easier for you to fuck up, not to mention how tedious this segment is due to its length. It's hard to describe how it feels to play this section, so just think of something ten times worse than the description I'm giving you, and maybe you thought of something close to it. Makes me wonder if playing the Brute of a Man tower feels anything like this.

From this point on, my source of knowledge is my buddy decompiler. The maker doesn't seem to mind decompilers (And even encouraged its use), so I don't feel guilty at all. I never got past the fifth screen, and upon checking the later screens, I'm glad I didn't bother.
Side note: Further analysis of the fifth screen indicates that the drop has the size of about 18 normal fangame screens. Imagine doing that in low gravity.

- The sixth screen consists of much more advanced needle. The first save is the hardest, ending with a downwards plane. It's nothing that more skilled needle players can't tackle, but it is clearly harder than the previous needle sections (If you don't think of the fifth screen as needle). It's also a clear display of generic needle. Maybe imagining Lovegood's needle will give you an idea of what this screen is like. The last save is laughably easy, but it foreshadows something horrible.
- The seventh screen is MORE advanced needle, even harder than the previous one. The first two saves can also be described as "Lovegood needle", if you know it. The third save is a short water corridor surrounded by death blocks. You can think of it as a few water double inverts in a row, but of different heights. The last, again, is a joke compared to the other saves in the screen.
- The eighth screen is weird. Just weird. The first save involves jumping on blocks with spikes slightly shifted to the left on top of them. The second is a triple diamond, but there's a (static) platform that SHOULD make it possible using some weird platform jump magic (Though the execution of said jump is just bizarre due to the platform's positioning). Three one-jump saves follow this thing: A hard drop, a double invert and a triple water invert.
- The ninth screen is a pretty serious needle challenge. Squished jumps, precise drops and a quintuple water invert compose this work of madness. It's seriously hard. It's like the game is telling you to give up.
- The last screen is like the biggest fangame horrors incarnate. It's the unholy, unthinkable, inconceivable sight of the fangame hell. Essentially, it's a single save consisting of a spiral of water and death blocks that forms an absurd sequence of precise inputs, namely chain cancels required for a bunch of water inverts (A sequence of 19, another of 21, another of 18 and one more of 11), as well as some dangerous drops that require frame-perfect timing and why am I even wasting my time explaining this save, that thing is clearly well beyond humanly possible, and no one will ever beat it legitimately. I can only imagine someone playing this up to the last screen, thinking that they are so close, only to find this abomination. It's a cruel joke. It's just cruel. Looking at it is looking at a torture device: Just the sight of it already inflicts pain.

Assuming the eighth save isn't literally impossible, the last is humanly impossible anyway, so...blergh. This seriously makes me smile upon seeing steak games and happil clones. None of them will ever come close to disgusting me as much as this does.

Read More

Tagged as: Needle
[3] Likes
Rating: 0.0 0       Difficulty: 100 100
Sep 20, 2017
DestructorTheDestroyer
For: I wanna BREAK
The last save of this game is extremely cancerous and I honestly could give this game a 90 in difficulty because of it. It makes you do 5 jumps spread out across 5 screens which means walking into each screen separately to do each jump which will take 1 minute total. The jumps are align dependent and require pixel perfect movement and the last jump is apple animation dependent. I recommend playing the game to the last save since everything else was pretty fun.

Read More

Tagged as: Needle
[0] Likes
Rating: 5.0 50       Difficulty: 85 85
Sep 20, 2017
Go to page:
0 1 2 3 4 > >> 1932