Latest Reviews

Go to page:
0 << < 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 > >> 1580
bananaguy12_
For: I wanna be the Overlord
This is just a ripoff of other games. It's generic.

Read More

[2] Likes
Rating: 1.0 10       Difficulty: N/A
Mar 24, 2017
BreedPineapple
For: I wanna be the Overlord
[0] Likes
Rating: 9.5 95       Difficulty: 52 52
Mar 24, 2017
JapaneseToilet
For: I wanna be the night needle
Just right.

Read More

[1] Like
Rating: 8.0 80       Difficulty: 60 60
Mar 24, 2017
AriesAn
For: I wanna sing the song
Tagged as: Avoidance Miku
[0] Likes
Rating: N/A       Difficulty: N/A
Mar 24, 2017
Makedounia
For: I wanna fall into the snow
[0] Likes
Rating: 8.6 86       Difficulty: 55 55
Mar 24, 2017
DestructorTheDestroyer
For: I wanna be ice fan
Tagged as: Needle 1-Frame
[0] Likes
Rating: 6.0 60       Difficulty: 80 80
Mar 24, 2017
Golden_Truth
For: I wanna be the Overlord
Not many creators are willing to go through the effort of creating a fully fledged metroidvania-style fangame, and among those, hardly any are successful in what they set out to do. I wanna be the Overlord is one of these few successes, creating a multi-stage game world that has branching paths, secrets, puzzles, diverse enemies, intricate bosses, and a variety of stage themes/gimmicks. The difficulty is curve is well done, with the platforming never reaching that frustratingly difficult level (though some secret areas may be difficult for new players, and there were 2 "enemy only" screens which were awful). Although the bosses are generally harder than most of the platforming and have some attacks that can easily screw you over from RNG, this doesn't reach extreme levels and with the level up system even newer players to the fangame genre can probably finish if they grind out some levels. However, these bosses don't really feel progressively more difficult due to the branching nature of the game, and sometimes later bosses can even feel easier than early bosses because you have more damaging tools at your disposal.

My main complaints when I first started (lack of attack range, not being able to teleport to hub at will) ended up being resolved via hidden items/rewards. That said there are still some minor issues that I had with the game, less having to do with the game world itself and more having to do with the lack of polish on the metroidvania elements. First off it isn't very clear what certain items do, they have no in-game description and most just end up taking an inventory slot and are used once and never again (does the secret bosses' reward give you more souls? Why would people want this when it's probably the last thing people do in the game?). Finding certain items can prove to be very difficult, so perhaps more "hint npcs" would be helpful to point you in the right direction (ie. a cryptoria npc hinting at needing the nattgard torch would be useful). Likewise, the customization of weapons is fairly lacking. You can find guns which only provide a base damage upgrade (so if you find worse guns there is no real point in using them) and the only variety in the actual shooting you do involves the few rings in the game (and there is an obvious optimal ring which makes all the others obsolete). Similarly, leveling up just increases attack power by 1 which is pretty boring, though I don't really know how to solve this since something like a "guts" mechanic would be worse. The biggest disappointment was probably the ending, as after having a seemingly story-driven opening at the beginning of the game you beat the final boss, credits role, and that's it. Some sort of cutscene at the end resolving the story itself would go a long way in making the ending seem complete.

Although there were some minor elements that could have been done better, overall this is one of the few "must play" fangames and is recommended for players of all skill ranges.

Read More

[2] Likes
Rating: 9.8 98       Difficulty: 50 50
Mar 24, 2017
GamerDudeK
For: Narsarsuaq
Relatively fun game, nothing crazy difficult. None of the saves took me a very long time, but it was quite enjoyable to play.

Would recommend.

Read More

[0] Likes
Rating: 6.0 60       Difficulty: 40 40
Mar 24, 2017
BrDowns
For: I wanna be the Micromedley
[0] Likes
Rating: 6.0 60       Difficulty: 60 60
Mar 24, 2017
letzplaygameplay
For: I wanna colorize the needle
Another great needle game from Thenader. A couple of screens were really annoying, but most of the game was very fun.

Read More

Tagged as: Needle
[0] Likes
Rating: 7.9 79       Difficulty: 57 57
Mar 23, 2017
Go to page:
0 << < 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 > >> 1580