Latest Reviews

Go to page:
0 << < 2428 2429 2430 2431 2432 2433 2434 2435 2436 2437 > >> 2715
infern0man1
For: I wanna LTO 3
This one is where the series began to turn around, which isn't a good thing at all. For one thing, the last save is impossible by legitimate means; for another, there's a lot more stuff here that requires some smaller jumps, more so than in the previous two.

I personally found this much more fun than the previous two; however, there's no excuse for making an impossible game, which ultimately was this game's downfall.

Read More

Tagged as: Needle Impossible
[1] Like
Rating: 3.5 35       Difficulty: 100 100
Jul 25, 2015
Xplayerlol
For: I wanna Really Easy 2
Same style of platforming as the first one, but quite harder. Shortcuts are far harder, as well. The design is better, now you actually have to pay attention to the platforming, and now the visuals are better, themed on xmas. I wonder why would anyone make a xmas-themed fangames at July, but whatever, it's good.
Overall, it's good, and enjoyable. Would recommend.

Read More

Tagged as: Needle
[0] Likes
Rating: 6.1 61       Difficulty: 36 36
Jul 25, 2015
Eljoaco22
For: I wanna Pop Your Cherry
Is this supposed to be... funny?

Read More

[0] Likes
Rating: 1.1 11       Difficulty: 5 5
Jul 25, 2015
Xplayerlol
For: I wanna Really Easy
Needle game where you can choose between two paths to get to the next screen. One is a difficult jump, or a short sequence of more-or-less difficult jumps, and the other one is a long, but easy path. Some screens don't have the shortcut path, and the penultimate screen's easy path isn't that easy at all.
Musics are nice, and visuals aren't bad, but the level design is quite uninteresting. Most easy paths are long and boring, and the shortcuts are generic.
The concept is nice, but not well executed. Wouldn't recommend.

Read More

Tagged as: Needle
[0] Likes
Rating: 4.5 45       Difficulty: 30 30
Jul 25, 2015
Xplayerlol
For: I wanna be the 5th world
4 short stages followed by a boss. Mostly made of generic jumps, there's nothing too bad about it, but there's nothing really good about it either. Uses Kill the Guy's gravity inverter (Inverts the screen, not just the kid), which is really helpful. Pink cherries are visually good, but boring to get through. The trap stage is probably the hardest, with hard-ish jumps and annoying traps. Yellow and Blue Stages are just basic needle, and Black Stage is a very short and easy maze that uses the 'darkness' gimmick.
The boss is more interesting. Based on Destination, most of its attacks are quite unusual, and while some attack combinations are unfair, it's a mostly fun fight. Its HP is also quite lower than Destination's boss'.
It's not bad, it's just...Uninteresting, for the most part. Wouldn't really recommend, unless you really don't have anything else to play.

Read More

Tagged as: Needle Trap Gimmick
[0] Likes
Rating: 4.5 45       Difficulty: 42 42
Jul 25, 2015
Xplayerlol
For: I wanna be the Blue Core
2-screen needle game. First screen features spike jumps, and the second one features cherry jumps. I like it, it's very well-designed, with mostly interesting jumps, and the music is cool. My only complaints are about the loud death sound, and the extremely flashy visuals, which can confuse people, and even hide some saves. Would recommend, as long as your sight can handle it (You can always press "S" after each jump as a last resort, maybe you're missing a save).

Read More

Tagged as: Needle
[0] Likes
Rating: 6.0 60       Difficulty: 55 55
Jul 24, 2015
infern0man1
For: I wanna clear FT
1-frame open gate into an upwards plane onto a TAS ledge, then do an invert. Nothing special.

Read More

Tagged as: Needle
[1] Like
Rating: 2.5 25       Difficulty: 70 70
Jul 24, 2015
infern0man1 [Creator]
For: I wanna Pop Your Cherry
2015 was a dark time.

Read More

Tagged as: Special
[2] Likes
Rating: 0.0 0       Difficulty: 0 0
Jul 24, 2015
Xplayerlol
For: I wanna be the Boshy
Rating is based on Hard-on mode, and I blame my beginner self for that.
On the surface, Boshy is a high-quality fangame, with some of the best visuals I've ever seen in a fangame and overloaded with gimmicks that you won't see everywhere, even nowadays. Lengthy, and keeping its quality from the beginning to the end, always surprising you with something new. Cool musics, and when you're ready to complain about the restarting musics, you realize that the restarting music is an optional feature that can be changed at the options, along with blood density, frame rate, and more. There are unlockable BGMs, characters, items and even secret bosses, along with achievements to follow your progress. Amazing!
On the surface, I said. It might be just me, and that's why there are so many positive reviews around here, but I just hate this game. From the bottom of my heart. Why? Because the gameplay is just terrible, no matter how I look at it.

- As many will notice at first glance, the game's physics are far different from the normal fangames' physics. The game handles its physics well for the most time, but once in a while, there are some jumps that should just be erased from the game. Stage 3's mirror area, Stage 5's first save, Stage 6's first save, lots of jumps at the Good Level Design area...They're all possible, but will usually require require some sort of disgusting maneuvering. Boshy's physics are good for its bosses, but just terrible for needle-ish jumps.
- It seems like games such as Weston Douglas Jones were heavily inspired by Boshy. Most stages in this game will have at least one screen with some sort of visual effect that just shouldn't be there. These effects don't make any sense, and there's not a single reason for them to be there, other than giving the players a headache.
- Boshy is one of the very few fangames to use the cheap pre-boss platforming. That's right, you got to the last save of the stage! Nothing stands on your way between you and your foe...Aside from a couple needle jumps, or maybe a screen full of nothing, depending on what boss are you up against. Then you can fight against the boss. And you must go through these things every single time, because there's no save after you get past them. This isn't too bad for the first ten deaths. Then it starts to get boring. And more, and more boring, and even more boring. Skeleton King's pre-boss platforming is particularly stupid. One pointless basic needle jump, followed by a pointless screen with a torch at some point. You must get this torch, and bring it to the next screen, where you'll finally be able to fight against the boss. Yes, you must do this every single time. And since Skeleton King isn't the easiest of the bosses, I guess that you'll be doing that for quite a while. Sounds fun, right? The teleporter room can solve some of these issues, as it normally teleports you directly to the boss, but there are some exceptions, and unfortunadely, one of these exceptions is the Skeleton King. This is not just pointless, it's boring as hell, it kills one's motivation to beat the boss.
- Boshy is one of the most lag-inducing fangames that you'll ever see. Moving backgrounds, lots of visual effects and lots of bullets, sometimes you'll get all of these at one screen, and more. And the options won't help you, there's no way to turn any of the visual effects off, so if your game lags, there's nothing you can really do about it.
- Purely timing-based attacks are always a terrible idea. You're just standing there, and there's nothing on the screen, it's just you and Skeleton King. One second later, a lightning just pops out of nowhere, covers a fair share of the screen and kills you because why not.
- Pointless extra phases seem to be a thing with the bosses in this game. You kill Mario, and you're waiting for your rewarding achievement. Then, Mario starts to dance, and monsters start to pop out of nowhere, and all of sudden, you have to kill them. After you kill/avoid the last monster, you might think that it's over, but there's still another pointless phase before you can FINALLY say that you've beaten Mario.
- RNG attacks can be fair, but some particular attacks in this game are just completely luck-based, as they're too fast to be avoided normally, or can easily wall you, or both. Such is the case of the Sonic's ring attack, Shang Tsung's first blood rain, some of Ganon's attacks (Depending on where did he teleport to), some of Missing No's attacks (Namely the Tri Attack, those random lightnings can end up in the worst possible places), and more. You just stand there and wait for a lucky RNG, and that's all you can do. Cool.
- Combine these with unfair pattern attacks, such as Sonic's chasing attack (It's a lot harder to control than you'd expect at first glance), Megaman's bullet hell (There aren't many ways to avoid this attack, and all the ways are just absurd), Mario's corner attack (You're forced to stay in the left, and he'll spin while throwing coins and fire balls at you. I still don't know how does that attack work), and more. Understanding what to do is a harsh task, and doing it is yet another harsh task.
- If you can't mash in this game, you simply won't beat it. Since very early in the game (Ryu, to be more specific), you'll be forced to learn how to mash. The only other option is death. "Final Round! FIGHT!". And good luck. I pity your keyboard. An autofire option would be welcome here (Time Machine comes to the mind).
- The hitboxes in this game are just terrible. No matter what character are you playing with, your hitbox will be Boshy's. Always. And the game doesn't bother on somehow showing you that hitbox, so if you want to use another character, good luck with figuring out its hitbox. Also, projectiles, ceiling and spikes seem to hit you when you clearly haven't touched them, but that might be due to the different physics.
- Gimmicks are just thrown at you out of nowhere, there's no clear explanation about how do they work, so you'll have to figure it out on your own. Kirby's clouds, physics of gravity inversion at Stage 4, vine jumps that change your speed, every single of these gimmicks is very tricky to use (Some using extra tricks that just don't make any sense, such as Stage 4's gravity inverters: If you use your double jump before jumping at them, you'll instantly fall on the other direction, but if you don't use it, it'll take a couple seconds before you start falling. And knowing these tricks is absolutely necessary to get through. Amazing).
- For some reason, the platforms in Stage 11's castle will often steal your second jump. And since the carnivourous plant chase forces you to use a lot of double jumps, expect a lot of pointless deaths.
- VVVVVV's drop (The longest drop in VVVVVV Stage) is way too long for no reason. Lots of fillers that are there just for cheap extra difficulty. This isn't the only time that this happens in the game, but it's the most notorious one.
- Gradius is disgusting. Completely luck-based, MORE stuff for you to learn by yourself (Good luck with beating it without understanding how do the power-ups work, and how to activate them) and unnecessary length. VVVVVV's avoidance is way too lengthy for no reason, too, but at least that's the only issue with it, it's not as bad as Gradius.
- Solgryn deserves a special topic. While most of the game isn't too bad (I was planning on giving it a 5.0 before fighting against Solgryn), Solgryn is just terrible. Its total length ranges between 3 minutes and 4 minutes, a time that could be easily reduced to something among the lines of 2 minutes while keeping a fair share of difficulty, and leaving the boss' design exactly as it is. There are just far too many fillers. Second phase's whip attack (The attack that doesn't damage Solgryn) takes way too long for no reason, its sole purpose is to be boring. Third phase uses Sonic as the last attack, an annoyingly tricky attack that takes more than just a while to understand and avoid. Why is it the last attack? Because that makes things harder. Happil strats. It also takes way too long, compared to third phase's other attacks. Last phase's HP is just unnecessary, and the last attack seems to be yelling "CHOKE! CHOKE! CHOKE! CHOKE! CHOKE! CHOKE!". That not to mention the RNG attacks, which would be the whole second phase, Ryu's car, Shang Tsung's blood and last phase's random arrows. Boshy's normal bosses have 1, or 2 cheap RNG attacks at most. Solgryn has 4. Amazing.
- As a bonus complaint, I would like to bring up something that Thrice already mentioned: The lack of congruence. It's not even slightly immersive, which makes matters even worse.

Most of these annoying features reflect directly on the game's difficulty in the worst possible way, which makes me think that Boshy is one of those fangames whose sole purpose is to be hard as hell, going as far as sacrificing the gameplay's quality for that.
Boshy was my first fangame, and it really disgusted me as a beginner. Now I beat it as a sorta-of-veteran, and the only difference is that it disgusts me even more now. It's a great-looking fangame, indeed, but there are just far too many superior fangames when it comes to gameplay. Highly not recommended.

Read More

Tagged as: Adventure Needle Avoidance Trap Gimmick Long
[23] Likes
Rating: 3.1 31       Difficulty: 77 77
Jul 24, 2015
Xplayerlol
For: I Wanna DTG
Leehe strikes again. "I wanna Delete The Game". Sounds like a great concept. Wow.

Read More

Tagged as: Special
[1] Like
Rating: 1.0 10       Difficulty: 1 1
Jul 24, 2015
Go to page:
0 << < 2428 2429 2430 2431 2432 2433 2434 2435 2436 2437 > >> 2715