Latest Reviews

Go to page:
< 0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 > >> 2216
ColdWarrior
For: I Wanna Enjoy the Stimulated Strawberry Lollipop Dandy
Clear w/o EX

Really my least favorite of three. First of all, it relies too much on backtracking, which wasn't the case in two previous games or origin(afaik). Huge difficulty spike in the middle, a lot of long segments and bad precise jumps, some corridorish needle surprisingly. It plays a lot more like Witch's Needle than Uhuhu spike. I would prefer more consistent difficulty in-between games than it goes up in every new one. Probably will not play next one if it comes out, as i said first one was most enjoyable for me, and further it goes, the more cruel it becomes

Read More

[0] Likes
Rating: 6.8 68       Difficulty: 60 60
Feb 17, 2018
DerpyHoovesIWBTG
For: I wanna be the Death Token
Segments that look hard like the jumps in the middle of the screenshot are provided with water, and there's a couple of precise jumps here and there. Nothing to worry about other than the crappy visuals.

Read More

Tagged as: Needle Short
[0] Likes
Rating: 2.2 22       Difficulty: 25 25
Feb 17, 2018
DerpyHoovesIWBTG
For: I WANNA MISTERIOUS HONTER
An below average adventure game where you traverse various stages in order to find a treasure. The first three stages have a couple of hard jumps, but it gets pretty easy after that. Could be better.

Read More

Tagged as: Adventure Needle Boss
[0] Likes
Rating: 4.5 45       Difficulty: 43 43
Feb 17, 2018
ExcFree
For: I wanna go across the Crimson Rainbow
[0] Likes
Rating: 6.5 65       Difficulty: 65 65
Feb 17, 2018
sacredgeo
For: I Wanna Thank To Daburyu
Great game, probably the hardest thing I've cleared as of writing this review. This really hit the sweet spot for me in terms of general "flow", challenge, and fun and I hope to continue to find more like this as I continue my foray into fangames.

It's made up of three stages and a boss for each. I'll start by talking about the stages themselves.

The first two are medley stages, and not that I'm a medley connoisseur but they all felt rather different from each other and all were fairly well done. The actual platforming difficulty stays relatively low around for these stages - there are a few tricky sections here and there and some micro avoidances thrown in to keep things interesting, but it never gets too wild, I felt like every save was honestly more satisfying than the last and I more or less didn't put the game down until I hit the second boss and had to go to work.

The third stage is original needle and things ramp up quite a bit here. I found this section to be quite a challenge. For reference, I doubled my death count from everything else up to this point combined in the few screens this stage lasts. It is difficult, but it is not unreasonable. The saves are still very fair and I didn't really find myself frustrated at any point outside of one particular drop in one of the earlier screens. It's also worth mentioning that the save placement in this section is FULL meme and hitting the save is often a part of clearing that particular section. I actually liked that and found it entertaining but it is sort of frustrating when you die at the VERY end of a save.

I'll put my thoughts on the bosses in spoiler tags for those who want to be completely blind, but I'm not actually going to spoil anything here. Feel free to look if you don't mind knowing peripheral details.

The bosses are surprisingly fun to play with some scary looking avoidance sections, but they're really not so difficult from an execution standpoint once you go through them a few times.

The first is challenging enough to be fun, but short enough not to overstay its welcome. The first half is more or less trying to push as much damage in as possible while avoiding the easier pattern (mostly) attacks she throws at you. The second half consists of two avoidance parts, with both being extremely fun to dodge. Final in particular is SUCH a rush. It took me probably 2 hours in total to clear, and I enjoyed the entire experience.

The second is... kind of a meme boss? Another review here mentions that it's like an inside joke that the player isn't a part of and I definitely agree with that, I'm not sure who the person the boss was modeled after is supposed to be but his spoken lines are quite funny and I would assume it's a meme from the Japanese side of the internet that I'm not familiar with. I found myself having difficulty taking his last phase seriously because of how ridiculous it looks, but the boss is still very enjoyable to play and beat from a gameplay perspective. I found this one significantly harder than the first, but it still only took me 3 or 4 hours to clear.

The final boss is by FAR the hardest, but also the most rewarding. Full avoidance, mix of RNG and pattern along with some familiar attacks for Touhou players. There is one section of the fight quite late in that took me a disproportionate amount of time to learn which was frustrating, but getting over the barrier felt so good. I also had one of the most painful deaths in video games period here, where I died to the RNG maybe 1.5 seconds away from clearing in final, but we got over it. It took me between 10 and 12 hours to clear.

I do have a few issues with this one. They largely stem from the first half of the fight becoming an autopilot slog once you route a path through the first big avoidance part, and the hitboxes for some of the bullets used being... a bit wonky to say the least (another reviewer also mentions this). Overall, it's an excellent boss that pushed me pretty hard and one that I'm glad to have beaten.

My biggest complaint with the bosses here comes down to each one having at least one RNG based attack that can completely wall you and there's not a thing that you can do about it at all. They all sort of get progressively shaved down into "well, I hope [x] attack doesn't fuck me because I know the rest of the fight like the back of my hand" the longer you spend on them. I understand this kind of comes with the territory but it's just something I dislike in general. Overall I enjoyed them all though, I want that to be clear.


tl;dr it's good give it a shot

Read More

[0] Likes
Rating: 8.8 88       Difficulty: 65 65
Feb 17, 2018
moogy
For: あのコース
Actually pretty funny and well-made take on Kaizo Mario made as a fangame. It's worth a play if you don't mind silly traps and enjoy SNES era memes (the best kind)

Read More

[0] Likes
Rating: 6.5 65       Difficulty: 30 30
Feb 17, 2018
Lucien
For: Irkara Needle
I wonder why I'm one of the makers on the title,actually I did nothing lol
Okay so let's talk about the level design.Honestly speaking it is fairly good,many jumps are interesting.But for me I am really disappointed.This game is so similar to Crimson Needle 2 that I won't use "imitate" to describe,actually it is not accurate at all,it is just a copy to Kale's and my games.I don't talk about that many jumps have been appeared in Kale's and my stuff(I'm sure it is because Irkara imitated my style a lot before).But you can see,even the order of the sprites and the final boss are so similar to Crimson Needle 2.Although Irkara said the game imitated Crimson Needle,but the extent has already reached "copy".Irkara used at least 2 sets of the sprites of my games(Awful Needle 3 & 4),she just changed a bit and then didn't acknowledge that.She wrote the source:"Irkara Needle"on the credits BabyRage.I don't mind people use my sprites or use my games in their medleys but please at least tell me first.And I don't mean imitation is bad(In fact,I also imitated Kale style when I started making),but it is meaningless if the makers just stupidly copy things from other stuff.
lol maybe I'm too excited when I'm typing these words,nvm it is just a joke.On the whole the game is fun.I can enjoy most parts of the game.Would recommend if you are a needle fan.
PS:Irkara a cute

Read More

Tagged as: Needle Boss 100_Floor
[2] Likes
Rating: 7.5 75       Difficulty: 92 92
Feb 17, 2018
RandomChaos_
For: I Wanna Make Some Noise
Just one avoidance, has dot hitbox if you wanna chill. Kappa

GLHF!

Read More

[0] Likes
Rating: N/A       Difficulty: N/A
Feb 17, 2018
Keks
For: I Wanna BET 2
Boring needle :D

Read More

[0] Likes
Rating: 1.7 17       Difficulty: 88 88
Feb 17, 2018
Patitok
For: Irkara Needle
Very well produced and hard game with a lot of needle and a hard final boss. For Veteran players who like needle

Read More

Tagged as: Needle 100_Floor
[2] Likes
Rating: 9.0 90       Difficulty: 90 90
Feb 17, 2018
Go to page:
< 0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 > >> 2216